Along with the main residence, Mr. and Mrs. Edward Collings Knight, Jr., built support structures on the Corolla, NC, property including a Boathouse and Caretaker’s Residence that had clear architectural connections to each other. The Caretaker’s Residence burned down in 1948, but the Knight’s original Boathouse is still on the property and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
During the Knight’s time, the Boathouse was a center of activity for the duck hunting that drew guests to the property. It was a place teeming with activity, where the decoys and hunting skiffs were stored, and where grain to lure the waterfowl within range of the hunters was kept.
Today, a variety of artifacts from the heyday of wildfowl hunting on the Currituck Outer Banks are on display in the Boathouse. Many of these came from the old Pine Island Hunt Club, which was recently turned over to the National Audubon Society. Items such as tools, fish nets, block and tackles, oars, boat gaffes, lanterns, an anvil, a forge, silhouette decoys and beaver traps are now on exhibit. A gunning skiff from Pine Island made by Sinclair Lewis in 1901-02 rests on the boat rack. The hunting guides’ lounge, the generator room and the second floor are set up in much the same way they would have been during Mr. and Mrs. Knight’s time. Besides the Sinclair Lewis skiff, the newly restored boat rack holds two other historic Currituck Outer Banks skiffs. The Boathouse now brings to life the fascinating story of Corolla’s waterfowl hunting past.